Set permissions for personal booking

In Robin, if your organization has Google SSO and the "Allow personal booking" setting enabled, permissions will work a little differently.

When any Google SSO users reserve rooms in your organization, Robin will always try to create the event as the user first before:

A. Falling back to the booking account as the organizer if you're using the legacy composer or,

B. Falling back to the space as the organizer if you're using the advanced event composer.

To avoid problems around rejected meetings, make sure users have permission to schedule events on the room calendar in Google.

If done successfully, users will be the organizer of any event they book via Robin apps instead of needing an invite from the booking account. Keep in mind that impromptu meetings booked from room displays & kiosks will always be from the booking account for security reasons because we can't reliably determine who physically presses the button.

This guide assumes you're using resource calendars.

How to set permissions for personal booking

The easiest way to make sure permissions are valid is to go to your admin panel in Google, then go to Apps > G Suite > Calendars > General settings and check this box if it isn't already:

resource_sharing_setting.png

And then directly above that setting, you should see "internal sharing options." This is where you'll want to set your resource calendars (secondary calendars) to at least "Only free/busy information," but "Share all information" works too. 

internal_sharing_gcal.png

This setting may not apply to resources you've already created, so be sure to confirm their sharing settings match the setting above:

Screen_Shot_2018-03-07_at_2.58.41_PM.png

Once you've confirmed the settings are in place, you can enable the personal booking setting in Robin via Manage > Integrations:

personal_booking_setting.png

Users will now be the organizer for any new events they create through Robin. Anyone who doesn't use Google SSO to log into Robin will book rooms via the booking user. 

 

Is your office a shared workspace?

If your office is a shared workplace, any tenants who do not share the domain with the host company will need to book spaces directly through Robin, and enabling the "allow personal booking" setting is not recommended in this case-- unless you're okay with allowing outside G suite domains to book on your resource calendars. For more tips on best practices for multi-tenant offices, head this way.

Did this article help?