Anonymity


What is anonymity?

Anonymity allows admins to protect the privacy of people in chosen user groups. This feature ensures that bookings are private in your employees day-to-day usage of the Robin platform. It provides a secure environment that allows people to sit where they choose - without revealing their identities.


What does it look like?

The anonymity feature is located in the Permission Profiles section on the member role in your organization's role settings. When anonymity is enabled, certain settings and permissions within the platform are adjusted to ensure that user identities remain anonymous on all future bookings. 

 

 

This includes turning off the following features:

  • People tab: the People tab will be removed for the users within the anonymity organization. Admins will have the option to grant access to the People tab to users with custom roles.
  • Schedule/Workweek tab: On the web dashboard, anonymous users will not be able to access the schedule page. On the mobile app, the schedule tab will be limited to personal booking details.
    • This includes Activities. 
  • Analytics tab
  • Guest permissions

 

Turning Anonymity on affects some organization-wide settings. The following features are affected:

  • Favorites is disabled, which means users cannot add other users to favorites. To turn this back on under Manage > Organization, you must turn off anonymity.
  • The Who’s in Digest is turned off, which means we won't send your users information on who is coming to the office. To turn this back on under Manage > Notifications, you must turn off anonymity.

 

Additionally, new permission types for public desk and space bookings have been introduced, allowing administrators to define whether reservations default to public or private.

 

Public Desk Booking Permission:

This permission enables administrators to determine whether desk bookings default to public or private for users within the organization. When this permission is enabled:

  • New desk bookings will default to public, meaning they are visible to all users within the organization.
  • Existing desk bookings remain unaffected, maintaining their current privacy settings.
  • If the desk privacy policy allows, users can still manually change the visibility of their reservation during the booking process. More info on the desk privacy policy can be found here.

When the Public Desk Booking permission is disabled:

  • New desk bookings default to private, ensuring that they are not visible to other users by default.
  • Existing desk bookings remain unaffected, maintaining their current privacy settings.
  • The privacy policy of the building settings remains unchanged, ensuring consistency with existing privacy regulations. More info on the desk privacy policy can be found here.

 

Public Space Booking Permission:

Similar to the Public Desk Booking permission, the Public Space Booking permission allows administrators to define the default privacy settings for space reservations within the organization. Here's how it works:

When the Public Space Booking permission is enabled:

  • New space bookings will default to the public, meaning they are visible to all users within the organization.
  • Privacy status of existing space bookings remain unaffected 
  • If the space privacy policy allows, users can still manually change the visibility of their reservation during the booking process.

When the Public Space Booking permission is disabled:

  • New space bookings default to private, ensuring that they are not visible to other users by default.
  • Existing space bookings remain unaffected, maintaining their current privacy settings.
  • The privacy policy of the building settings remains unchanged, ensuring consistency with existing privacy regulations.

 

How do I enable Anonymity?

To activate anonymity, administrators can toggle the "Anonymity" setting within the Member role in the Manage > Roles section. This action triggers a set of permissions and settings ensuring that all users within the member role maintain anonymity. Administrators still have the flexibility to grant additional permissions to specific user subsets using custom role permission templates.

 

 

FAQ

Q: Why is anonymity placed on the Member role as opposed to new Custom roles?

A: Anonymity is placed on the Member role since it is permanently assigned to all users and encompasses all custom permissions. Assigning anonymity to custom roles would require additional regulation on the Member role, increasing the risk of permission conflicts and compromising user safety.

 

Q: How are permissions decided between multiple roles with opposing permissions?

A: Permissions with "Can" logic override those with "Cannot" logic. For example, if one role enables a feature and another disables it, and the user has both roles assigned, the user will have access to the feature.

 

Q: What happens when anonymity is activated?

A: Activating anonymity adjusts various settings and permissions to ensure user anonymity. This includes disabling features such as visibility of people, workweek schedules, activity creation, analytics, and guests permissions. Additionally, new permissions for public desk and space bookings are introduced, allowing administrators to define default privacy settings for reservations.

 

Did this article help?