Managing Assigned Desks

Requires

  • Admin in Robin
  • Desks

Once you've created your desk groups, you're ready to assign them to folks in your office. You can assign a desk from a few places, but in this guide we are going to focus on how to do it using the Office map page.  

 

How to get started

Admins (or custom roles + desk delegation) can manage seats from the map on the Office home page.

For many, desks on maps might be your default view. If not, navigate to the Office homepage > Desks tab > select Map view box > Manage seats. 

manage_seats_btn.png

Navigating draft mode

Now you're in "draft mode" where you can begin assigning employees to seats by dragging & dropping names or by selecting a green desk on the map.

draft_home_pg.png

A few things to note to help get you started:

By default you're already in the "click & drag" mode allowing you to easily move people around from the list onto the map or from the map onto the list.

To select multiple desks on the map, use your cursor to create a box around multiple desks then drag it the list or onto a desk group. 

To move around the map (pan gesture),  hold down the space bar before clicking to drag.

Zoom in to see the desk assignee names. 

Desk types

Refer to the desk legend for desk capacity

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_10.41.23_AM.png

Green desks = open seat for assignment

Grey desks =  desk is assigned to someone. 

Slashed desks (/)= flexible desks, which can't be edited or assigned in the manage seats mode. If you click on a flexible desk you will see a message like captured below. To edit the desk type go here. To learn more on how to reserve the flexible desk on behalf of a user, head this way. 

slash_desk_zoom.png

Changing views

To switch to another floor in the building, select the "Floor" button in the top right corner and select another floor from the dropdown. 

tools.png

To move around the map (pan gesture),  hold down the space bar before clicking to drag. Let go of space bar to select a name or desk to move. 

 

 

Assigning desks

Using the list on the left, drag & drop names onto desks on the map. To learn more about who is included in the list, go here . 

All edits automatically save to the draft. 

1

Drag and drop

  • Using the list on the left, drag an unassigned user to a green desk (see video above).
  • Using the list on the left, drag an unassigned user to an occupied desk. This will automatically unassign the person sitting there & their name will appear under "Assignment queue". 
  • Using the map, you can easily move around folks who are already assigned to a desk to a different desk by dragging and dropping. Drag them to an empty desk, assigned desk, or to the left side bar. 
  • To select a group of desks or multiple pods for bulk unassignment use your cursor to create a box around the desks then drag the box to the left side bar (See example below).

Selecting a group of desks: bulk_desk.gif

 

2

Select desk & search

Another way to assign a desk is to simply click on a desk and then search by name or email. 

point___click_.png 

 

To unassign a user from a desk click on a desk > select the "X".

unassign_a_desk.png

 

Saving changes 

Draft mode:

When you're assigning  seats for the first time or shuffling folks around you're in draft mode.

But let's say you're not ready to push (publish) those changes out for everyone to see, then simply exit the draft mode and all the edits will automatically be saved as a draft.

To exit the draft mode, click  "close draft" in the top left corner. This will exit the manage seats mode and take you back to the office home page. 

close_draft.png 

Publish mode:

When you're ready to publish the draft and go live with the seat assignments, select review and publish in the top right corner.

Review___publish.png

This opens a modal where you're prompted to review the final draft before publishing:

  • Check the box if you'd like to notify people of their new seat assignment or of any changes made. 
  • Select, Publish. Seat assignments go live immediately, or If something doesn't look right, select Do Not Publish.

publish.png

 

"More" options:

The more menu provides additional options like sharing or discarding the proposed draft changes.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-02_at_1.11.41_PM.png

Sharing

Send a colleague a summary of the proposed seat assignment changes via email with the option to include a note. 

share_option.png

The email they will receive will look something like this:

share_email.png

Discarding

"Discarding unpublished changes" deletes all changes in the draft, including any made by other admins. 

 

A few things to keep in mind while in draft mode 

  • Multiple admins can work on the same draft at the same time. If this happens, when you enter an active draft you will see the option to edit the existing draft or discard it and start a new draft.
  • If another admin modifies the draft while you're in it, a message will pop up to let you know a new version is available & to refresh to view the latest version. 
  • If you or another admin make seat assignment changes elsewhere in Robin (outside of the draft mode) while you still have an unpublished draft, we will notify you of any conflicts or outdated changes.
    At which point, you can choose to discard the draft you are working on and start a new draft. Or keep your unpublished changes, which will overwrite the seat assignments made outside the draft.  

conflict_msg.png

 

"Who does the list on the left include?"

The list on the left includes Robin users who do not have an assigned seat, including:

  • Robin users who have a hot or hotel desk reservation, but do not have an assigned seat. 
  • Proactively onboarding new hires, the list will include:
    • Premier accounts who've configured SCIM provisioning that automatically sync new hires to Robin.
    • A  new employee that's been invited to Robin,  but has not yet logged into Robin to validate their user email account. The email address has to be a valid format “name@domain.com”, but does not have to exist.
    • A Non-Robin User that was assigned a desk with an email address and then unassigned from a desk will appear in the list on the left. The email address will appear under the "unassigned" section.  If a non- Robin user email is not re-assigned to a desk before the draft is published their email address will  be removed from the list. 
    •  Assignment queue- Users unassigned in the draft will appear here and you can drag & drop into this section. This helps make the "unassigned section" a bit more manageable and helps office managers keep track of specific people who need a seat. 

Note, Robin users who have an assigned seat in a different building will not show up in the list. 

Office Managers can use an email address to assign desks to non-Robin users. Because Robin only has an email address, no name will show up on the desk.

 

Does your office use SSO?

  • End users need to login into Robin to “validate” their user account and provide their First & Last Name for them to show up as Robin Users in the “+Assign Someone” drop down.
  • Office Managers can use an email address to assign desks to non-Robin users. Because Robin only has an email address, no name will show up on the desk.

  • As mentioned above non-Robin users that are unassigned from a seat will show up in the left side bar as “recently” unassigned BUT will not appear once the draft is published.

 

Did this article help?