Managing assigned seats

User permissions required 

  • Manage offices and Maps: Location level
  • Delegation: Can assign & reserve desks for others
  • Assign Desks: Location level

How to assign seats using the Assignment Tool

1. From the Office page, select a floor > Edit floor dropdown on the map > Assignments. 

Screenshot 2023-10-26 at 16.44.23 (1).png2. Now you're in draft mode, where you can assign desks one of two ways: 

   A: Drag and drop the method using the list on the left. Select or search by name/email and drag &      drop it to a desk on the map. 

2023-12-21_12-02-09 (1).gif

B: Select a desk and enter a person's name. 

2023-12-21_12-00-28 (1).gif

3. To unassign a user, select the desk and click the X next to their name in the right sidebar. 

2023-12-21_12-23-20.png

To unassign a group of desks, hold down shift + drag the cursor to select the desks in bulk. Then drag & drop the selected desks to the assignment queue on the left. 

2023-12-21_12-10-38 (1).gif

4. Happy with your changes, but not ready to make it official yet? Click Close Draft, and your changes will be saved.

5. When you're satisfied with the new seating chart, click Review and Publish. Review the summary of changes.

    • Check the box if you'd like to notify people of their new seat assignment or of any changes made to their reservations.

2023-12-07_11-43-45.png

6. Click Publish. Changes go live immediately. 

Plan ahead using the Queue

The queue in the left sidebar helps you plan ahead for things like proactively onboarding new employees.

  • You can easily add (and remove) people from the queue who need to be assigned a desk now or in the future by simply dragging & dropping names from the people list to the queue.

  • If they have a seat assignment already, you'll see that noted next to their name in the queue.

  • When you're ready to assign a person to a desk, drag and drop them from the queue to a desk on the map. 

  • Click Clear All to remove/clear out the queue.

Untitled (1).gifThe People list on the left includes all Robin users and their assignment information. For proactively onboarding new hires, the list will include:

    • Accounts who've configured SCIM provisioning that automatically sync new hires to Robin.

    • A new employee has been invited to Robin but has not yet logged into Robin to validate their user email account. The email address has to be a valid format, “name@domain.com,” but does not have to exist.

    • A non-Robin user who was assigned a desk with an email address and then unassigned from a desk will appear in the list on the left. The email address will appear under the "unassigned" section.   If a non-Robin user's email is not re-assigned to a desk before the draft is published, their email address will be removed from the list. 

    • Note, Robin users who have an assigned seat in a different building will not show up in the list.

    • Office Managers can use an email address to assign desks to non-Robin users. Because Robin only has an email address, no name will show up on the desk.

Does your office use SSO?

  • End-users need to log into Robin to “validate” their user account and provide their First and last Name for them to show up as Robin Users in the “+ Assign Someone” dropdown.

  • Office Managers can use an email address to assign desks to non-Robin users. Because Robin only has an email address, no name will show up on the desk.

  • As mentioned above, non-Robin users who are unassigned from a seat will show up in the left sidebar as “recently” unassigned BUT will not appear once the draft is published.

 

Additional information about drafts & publishing

Read before publishing! 

We do not store original copies of floor plans & seating arrangements. The original arrangement cannot be retrogressed on our end. The Review and Publish summary will show you a list of seat assignments and desk reservations that will be impacted; if you don't want the changes to take effect, click on Go back. You also have the ability to discard the draft completely (click on Discard Draft). When you decide to publish a draft, a receipt of the changes will be emailed to you for your reference. 

 

A few things to keep in mind while in draft mode: 

  • If you're not ready to go live with the changes, close the draft mode, and all the edits will automatically be saved as a draft. This will exit the manage seats mode and take you back to the office home page. 

  • Multiple admins can work on the same draft at the same time. If this happens, when you enter an active draft, you will see the option to edit the existing draft or discard it and start a new draft.

  • If another admin modifies the draft while you're in it, a message will pop up to let you know a new version is available & to refresh to view the latest version. 

  • If you or another admin make seat assignment changes elsewhere in Robin (outside of the draft mode) while you still have an unpublished draft, we will notify you of any conflicts or outdated changes. At this point, you can choose to discard the draft you are working on and start a new draft. Or keep your unpublished changes that will overwrite the seat assignments made outside the draft.  

conflict msg.png

How to share a draft

Send a colleague a summary of the proposed seat assignment changes via email with the option to include a note. 

1. Click the 3 dots in the top right corner > Share. 

2023-12-07_12-09-44.png

2. Enter a teammate's email address and a note (optional). Click Send. 

share_option.png

 

 

Did this article help?