Use the Quick Edit Assignment tool to make small changes to desk assignments and seating. Robin has several ways to assign desks, for different needs and scales of planning. For large-scale desk assignments, use the Scenario planning assignment tool.
Use the Quick Edit Assignment tool
- In the web dashboard, go to the select Map and a floor.
- Select Edit floor on the map.
-
Select Assignments-Quick edits.
-
Assign desks in one of 2 ways:
A: The drag and drop method with the list on the left. Select or search for a name or email, then drag it to a desk on the map.
B: Select a desk and click + assign to search for and add users.
-
In the window, assign a desk to one person for the entire week OR assign multiple people to the same desk on different days of the week.
To remove a user or assign a different user, hover over the person and select the X. Then select + assign to search for and add another user.
To assign (or book) a desk for a non-Robin user, use their email address. For more tips, see seat planning for non-Robin users.
-
To let others book this desk on days it is not assigned, select “Bookable on unassigned days”. The desk then acts as a flex desk, and people can reserve it on the office map.
-
To change the desk configurations as you plan scenarios, use the availability status and desk-type drop-down menus at the top. The image above shows them.
Note: If users are assigned to a desk or have desk reservations, changing the desk to "unavailable" status unassigns them from the desk or cancels the reservations. You can review these changes before you publish the draft.
What does it mean when a desk is marked available or unavailable?
- Available desks - empty & can be booked or assigned.
- Unavailable desks- empty & cannot be booked or assigned. Uses a desk license and keeps its configuration (amenities, desk type, etc.).
- Archived desks- archived & not active in any user-facing features. Only admins can reactivate them. Robin no longer bills your organization for that desk.
- When you finish your changes, select Review & publish.
-
Review the assignment changes and desk summary. Robin warns you if the changes cancel any existing bookings, and lists them. Select Next.
To notify people of their new seat assignment or of changes to their reservations, check the box.
-
Select Publish. Changes go live right away.