Desk configuration tool (Distance planning & capacity management)

Supported Plans

  • Basic
  • Pro
  • Premier

User Permissions Required 

  • Custom roles: Reserve & Assign at the location/building level + delegation permission
  • Admin or owner role 

Manage the transition back to the office with interactive desk & map tools. Experiment with layouts of safely distanced desks and visualize and manage capacity using the configuration tool. Run through the prerequisites outlined below before getting started. 

This guide assumes that you already:

Watch the tutorial below or follow the guide

Navigation tips 

  • To move around the map, simply click and drag
  • Zoom in to see the desk assignee names. 
  • To switch to another floor in the building, select the "Floor" button in the top right corner.
  • Select multiple desks, hold shift + cursor.
  • Adjust the size of the distance radius by hovering over the edge of green bubble to activate the resizing tool. See example below. Note, the size does not save between draft sessions.

adjust_radius.gif

Keyboard shortcuts menu

keyboard_shortcuts.png

 

Using the configuration tool

1
From the Office search page in the dashboard, select > Edit floor drop down in the map > Configuration.  edit_floor-config.png
2
A. If you previously had a desk floor plan configured, we recommend treating this like an office move and Starting a new plan. * This will change all desks to unavailable and clear any previous desk assignments & reservations.
B. Assigning desks for the first time? Skip to step 4.

(If you prefer to work off of the current seat arrangements--  skip to step 4.)

ezgif.com-video-to-gif__2_.gif 

Common Pitfalls

If folks are currently assigned to desks or have desk reservations, it's important to note that changing a desk to "unavailable" status or "starting a new plan" will unassign the person from that desk or terminate reservations. Don't panic if you weren't ready to cancel desk assignments or reservations-- remember this is only a draft. No changes are official until you publish the draft. However, once it's published we cannot recover or revert back to the original plan. 

3

Change desk availability

Click & toggle

  • Click on a desk to select it.
  • To select multiple desks, hold shift + click desks.
  • To select a group of desks, drag the cursor across the desks. 

Once you have desks selected & highlighted in blue, a menu on the right side will appear:

  • Use the toggle option at the top to make the desk available/unavailable. When a desk becomes available the impact radius will appear.
  • Hover over the edge of the green bubble to adjust the size of the distance radius. Note, the size does not save between draft sessions. (See an example here)

Click___toggle.gif

 

4

(Optional) Change the desk type

Using the right side menu >  desk type drop-down > select assigned, hotel, or hot. (The desk type can be changed using the Layout desk tool too.) 

Hot tip: Hold the CMD/CTRL button while clicking desks to automatically switch the availability status.

change_desk_type.gif

5
Use the floor overview legend to help measure desk availability & manage office capacity.

(Optional) Use the "daily limit capacity" toggle to set a daily limit on the number of bookable flexible desks. Note, the capacity limitation only applies to hot and hotel desks.

This gives employees the flexibility to choose where they want to work from a pool of desks; however, once the cap is reached, any remaining desks become unavailable to book.

capacity_legend_toggle.png

Desk status legend

Available = The desk is empty, and you can use it.

Unavailable = The desk is empty and cannot be booked.

Active = The desk is visible and actively managed within Robin. End-users may reserve or interact with it.

Archived = The desk is archived and not active in any user-facing features. Only admins may reactivate them. Your organization is no longer billed for the desk.

 

5

Save & publish changes 

Draft mode:

Whether you're assigning seats for the first time, shuffling folks around, changing desk types, or available/unavailable desks, you're working in draft mode.

But let's say you're not ready to push those changes out for everyone to see?

Exit the draft mode and all the edits will automatically be saved as a draft. Seat assignments and desks operate under the same draft.

If your floor plan is made up of assigned seating then Return to seat assignment mode (top center buttons) to reassign the active desks via drag & drop. 

Publish mode:

Read before publishing! 

Publishing a draft will wipe out all current seat assignments and desk reservations. We do not store original copies of floor plans & seating arrangements. The original arrangement cannot be retrogressed on our end. We recommend triple-checking the new plan before publishing a draft.  No changes are official until you publish the draft. Or you can discard the draft and all assignments/reservations will remain the same. 

When you're ready go live with the seat assignments and/or desk management plan, select Review and publish in the top right corner.  Or discard the proposed draft changes.

draft_options.png

 

Review the changes outlined in the modal:

review___publish_cropped.png

The review and publish modal summarizes any changes made to seat assignments & the impact it has on flexible desk reservations. Note: The “Notify people of changes via email” flag notifies users that there's been a change to their seat or desk reservation.

 

Lastly, the user who is publishing the draft will receive an email receipt that displays the impact on seat assignments & desk reservations. This gives office managers a historic view of the changes and the ability to follow up with users that may need to reserve another seat.

emial_receipt.png

 

Does your floor plan include hotel desks?

Consider reviewing your hotel desk reservation policies for additional restrictions.

 

For more planning tips and strategies check out our hub of resources for CORONAVIRUS WORKPLACE READINESS 

Did this article help?