How to deactivate a user

User accounts can be deactivated and re-activated by Robin admins under Manage > People.  When a user account is deactivated, it's still visible to admins, and historical data is preserved, but it doesn't count toward billing. For example, when a person is on sabbatical or maternity/paternity leave, you may want to deactivate their account temporarily to free up space for a new user. 

In this guide, we'll cover how to deactivate and reactivate a user account and what a deactivated account looks like. 

How to deactivate a user account

Navigate to Manage > People > hover over the user's status > Deactivate. 

Deactivate_User_s___1_.gif

What does a deactivated user account look like?

A deactivated user who is still logged in will see a page like this one:

Screenshot_2022-10-19_at_16.05.48.png

And they'll have access to their user settings:

Screenshot_2022-10-19_at_16.05.58.png

A deactivated user who has been logged out will see a page like this one:

Screenshot_2022-10-19_at_16.14.25.png

How to activate a user account

Navigate to Manage > People > hover over the user's status > Activate. 

Activate_User_s___1_.gif

 

FAQ

Q: What is the difference between deleting a user and deactivating a user?

Deleting a user deletes all of their information from our database. If, for whatever reason, a deleted user needs access to Robin again they'll need to be invited and register a new account. 

Q: We are on user-based billing, does a deactivated user account count toward billing?

No, we only count active users toward billing. 

 

Did this article help?