How personal booking works
Set Google permissions so that people book rooms in Robin as themselves. If your organization has Google SSO and the "Allow personal booking" setting turned on, permissions work like this: when a Google SSO user reserves a room in your organization, Robin always tries to create the event as the user first. If that fails, Robin falls back to:
- The booking account as the organizer, if you use the legacy composer.
- The space as the organizer, if you use the advanced event composer.
Check user permissions
To avoid rejected meetings, make sure that users have permission to schedule events on the room calendar in Google.
When the setup works, users are the organizer of any event they book in Robin apps. They do not need an invite from the booking account.
Impromptu meetings booked from room displays and kiosks always come from the booking account for security reasons (unless the user booked with a QR code). Robin cannot reliably tell who physically presses the button.
Set Google permissions for personal booking
Set calendar permissions in the Google Admin console first. These steps assume that you use resource calendars.
- In the Google Admin console, go to Menu > Apps > Google Workspace > Calendar.
- Select General settings.
- Under Resource booking permissions, check the box Allow users to book resources that are shared as "See only free/busy" if it is not checked.
- Under Internal sharing options for secondary calendars, set your resource calendars (secondary calendars) to at least "Only free/busy information (hide event details)". "Share all information" also works.
- Open the Access permissions of each existing resource calendar. Make sure that it is available to your organization with the same sharing level as Internal sharing options for secondary calendars. That setting may not apply to resources that you already created.
Turn on personal booking in Robin
Then turn on the personal booking setting for your Google Workspace integration.
- In Robin, go to Manage > Integrations.
- In the Installed list, select Manage next to Google Workspace. The Google Workspace page opens.
- Under Features, turn on Allow Personal Booking.
Users are then the organizer for any events they create in Robin. Anyone who does not use Google SSO to log in to Robin (or does not have their Google Calendar connected in their user settings) books rooms through the booking user.
Personal booking in a shared workspace
In a shared workplace, tenants who do not share the domain with the host company must book spaces directly in Robin. In this case, Robin does not recommend the Allow Personal Booking setting, unless you are fine with allowing outside Google Workspace domains to book your resource calendars. For best practices in multi-tenant offices, see multi-tenant office tips.