Adding permissions to roles

Supported Plans

  • Basic
  • Pro
  • Premier

 

Once you've created custom roles, add permissions. Permissions define the level of access a user has to specific features in Robin. Access and management permissions can be scoped to include certain locations or spaces within a location. Roles and their corresponding permissions are additive and can be applied to an individual user or to a group.

Watch our quick overview video to see how it works!

 

How it works

Inclusions

If users shouldn’t have access to a feature, removing all locations from the “Include” list will remove the permission. For example, this role cannot reserve desks because all locations have been removed and no locations are specified.

specify_locations-permissions.png

Exclusions

Exclusions allow admins to remove specific entities from locations on the include list. For example, as an admin you want to allow users to have access to all desk spaces in Boston except for the 2nd floor, it would look like this:

Exclusions-_permissions.png

 

Admins, navigate to ManageRoles and select the role you'd like to edit. Then scroll down to view the Permissions settings.

Permissions_page.png

Users with multiple roles 

How it works-- the actions that a user is allowed to do is the sum of all the things their roles and groups allow them to do. If the user belongs to any groups with a role that allows for something (e.g. booking a room) then the user will be able to do it — even if another role doesn't grant this permission.

For example: if Role A has access to edit billing and Role B does not, but a user is tied to both roles, they will have access to edit billing.

Billing

Indicate whether users and groups with this role can see the Billing page (Manage > Billing), and whether they can edit any of the information found there.

Note: If you give the role edit access, that means they can edit all fields in Billing. There are not granular permissions for each field. For example, you can’t grant access to edit the credit card number but not the subscription plan.

 

Scheduling Management

Common Pitfalls

The permission must be revoked for default roles (admin, members, owner), and then enabled for a custom role if only certain people should be able to book a space.

Booking

Indicate what areas of the office a role has permission to schedule. Use “Include” and “Exclude” to call out specific locations or spaces a role can book.

Note: These booking permissions are only enforced when a user tries to reserve a space through Robin (web, mobile, plugin).

 

Desk Management

Reserve

Indicate what areas of the office a role has permission to reserve hot or hotel desks. Use “Include” and “Exclude” to call out specific locations or spaces a role can reserve a desk in.

Assign

Indicate what areas of the office a role has permission to reserve an assigned desk. Use “Include” and “Exclude” to call out specific locations or spaces a role can reserve assigned seating.

Bypass booking policies

Indicate what areas of the office a role has permission to bypass existing booking policies. Use “Include” and “Exclude” to call out specific locations or spaces.

Delegation

Select the check box to allow users to assign & reserve desks for others.

Privacy

Note: The permission must be revoked for default roles (admin, members, owner), and then enabled for a custom role if only certain people should be able to see this information; Read event details, Peoples, Analytic tabs.

Read Event Details

Indicate what areas of the office a role has permission to see event details for all events except those marked “private”.

People

Select the checkbox to allow members to view all members of your organization.

Analytics

Select the checkbox to allow users to view organization analytics.

Reset Role

If you need to revert back to the default roles (member, admin & owner)with basic permissions select Reset role. This will only reset the default roles, not custom roles. 

Examples

You’ll find a few common scenarios below. Remember that by default the Member role grants permission to book everything.

“Everyone can book everything in our organization”

Change nothing. The Member role allows this by default.

“Alice shouldn't be able to book anything except for on the 6th floor of Building A.”

  1. Modify the default Member role, removing the ability to book all spaces.
  2. Create a role that's allowed to book anything on the 6th floor.
  3. Assign the role to a group, and add Alice to the group.

“People in the Marketing group can book anything on the 6th floor except for two rooms, Council Chamber and the Knight Conference.

  1. Modify the default Member role, removing the ability to book all spaces.
  2. Create a role that's allowed to book anything on the 6th floor.
  3. For that same role, add two exclusions for the Council chamber & the Knight Conference room.

Screen_Shot_2019-06-19_at_10.10.38_AM.png

 

 

Did this article help?